Basildon Borough Council has 42 elected members representing 16 wards. The Councillors are elected by thirds - there are Borough Council elections 3 years out of every 4, with an Essex County Council election being held in the fourth year.

The current political distribution of those councillors is as follows:

  • Conservative - 20
  • Labour - 15
  • Independent Group - 4
  • Wickford Independents- 2
  • Non-Aligned - 1

At the Annual Council Meeting held on 25 May 2017, the Council resolved to change its form of governance from the Leader and Cabinet model to a committee system. Decisions of the Council are made by the Council and its Committees or are delegated to officers. Further information about the way the Council works can be found in the Constitution.