Tourist attractions in Basildon Borough.

Barleylands Farm - Billericay

Barleylands Farm is a unique farm based attraction in a countryside location. Home to the Craft Village, Miniature Steam Railway, Farm Centre, and a bimonthly Farmers Market.

Barleylands is also the venue for the Essex Steam and Country Show along with other activities and interests throughout the year.

Barleylands Farm

Battlesbridge Antique Centre - Battlesbridge

Battlesbridge Antique Centre is made up of five main buildings, including The Old Granary, on the banks of the River Crouch, and the Haybarn, which became the first provincial centre in the country.

The land in front of the centre was originally known as Bones Meadow and a early occupant was arrested and fined by the Manor Court for concealing contraband liquor in a false loft! gives full information on the largest antiques centre in Essex including opening times and dealer lists.

Battlesbridge Antique Centre

Cater Museum - Billericay       

Opened in 1960 in Billericay's busy High Street, the privately owned museum is laid out in room settings including a Victorian sitting room and bedroom. Well worth a visit.

For more details telephone 01277 622023 - Open, 2 - 5 pm Monday to Saturday or see the museum web site at

The Cater Museum

Cats Cradle Pussiwillow III Clock - Eastgate Shopping Centre, Basildon Town Centre               

The Cats Cradle Pussiwillow III Clock was commissioned by Basildon New Town from Rowland Emett in 1981. (The designer of the car in the film Chitty Chitty Bang Bang)

The Clock becomes animated on every quarter hour, with a full display of rotating and spinning taking place each hour.

The Clock can now be found on the first floor of the Eastgate Shopping Centre  

Pussiwillow Clock

Mill Meadows Nature Reserve - Billericay                 

Mill Meadows is a series of rolling old meadows covering 90 acres.

Centuries of grazing have created the right conditions for a wonderful diversity of wild flowers and insects many of which are now rare in the County.  

The Mill Meadows Society help and assist in the management and conservation of Mill Meadows.

Mill Meadow

Mother and Child Statue - Basildon Town Square, Basildon Town Centre       

The Mother and Child statue by Maurice Lambert, was commissioned in 1959 to symbolise the growth of the New Town - which stands today in Basildon's Town Square.

The sculpture took a year to create and cost £4,000!

Mother and Child Statue

Noak Bridge Nature Reserve - Basildon

A small reserve with a number of distinct habitats. Open, grassy rides contrast with scrubby thickets and young woodlands.

The Noak Bridge Nature Reserve Society  has installed bird nesting boxes and bat boxes in remote areas of the reserve and taken an active role in developing and maintaining the Reserve and its facilities.

Noak Bridge Nature Reserve

Norsey Wood Nature Reserve - Billericay

Norsey Wood has 175 acres of ancient coppiced sweet chestnut, oak and hornbeam woodland.

Its association with 400 years of history and the richness of its wildlife make this site unique. Norsey Wood has been designated an ancient monument and a Site of Special Scientific Interest (SSSI).

Norsey Wood Sign

Plotlands Museum - Laindon       

Between the two World Wars, many parts of Basildon were sold to Londoners seeking a week-end retreat in the country. The Haven - home to the Mills family has been retained as a typical Plotland bungalow. Built in the mid 1930's by Frederick Mills, it was the family home for over 40 years.

The Haven, The Mile Long Plotland Trail and Dunton Hills are a part of the Langdon Nature Reserve which is managed by the Essex Wildlife Trust.

For further details telephone 01268 419103 or visit Essex Wildlife Trust website.


St. Martins Bell Tower - St Martins Square, Basildon Town Centre

A unique free-standing facetted glass and steel tower from the original concept by Douglas Galloway RIBO, comprising over 300sq metre glass as a project to mark the new millennium. Opened by Queen Elizabeth II on 12th March 1999.

The tower is an 85 foot octagonal spire of neo-gothic design. It houses six historic bells from the redundant church of St. Nicholas in Colchester, together with two new bells.

The Tenor bell was cast in 1441, and was the first bell ever to be cast by a woman (Joanne Hille).

Work on the tower started in 1998, with a ceremony at which the ground for the foundations was dug open by Sir Stirling Moss OBE in 1998.

St Martins Bell Tower

Wat Tyler Country Park - Pitsea

Located on the Thames Estuary Marshes, Wat Tyler Country Park has over 120 acres of Thorn Woodlands, Adventure Play Areas, Craft Units Miniature Rails, Cafe and Education Centre.

The park also is also rich in plant and animal life which includes a number of local and nationally rare species.

Wat Tyler