A community governance review is a review of Local (town, parish and village) Councils

The terms of reference for the Community Governance Review that has been undertaken in accordance with the provisions of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 are available to view below.

The Scope of the Review

The review was conducted to consider the electoral arrangements of existing Local (town, parish and village) councils in the Basildon Borough and whether these arrangements remain appropriate and fit for purpose. This included:

  • ordinary year of election - the year in which ordinary elections of local councillors are held
  • council size - the number of councillors to be elected to each council
  • parish warding - whether local councils should be divided into wards for the purpose of electing councillors. This includes considering the number and boundaries of any such wards, the number of councillors to be elected for any such ward and the name of any such ward

All other matters that may have been considered as part of a community governance review are out of the scope of this review and were therefore not considered.

The Result of the Community Governance Review

At the Council meeting held on 14th February 2019, the Council considered the final proposals in respect of the Community Governance Review (CGR) of Local (town, parish and village) Councils electoral arrangements, which included responses received during that Review.

The Council decided that no changes to the existing arrangements would be made. Please see the final notice below.

Further information about this decision can be found at part 12 on the below link.

Please direct any queries on the above Community Governance Review to:

Email : elections@basildon.gov.uk

Post :

Community Governance Review
Electoral Services
Basildon Borough Council
The Basildon Centre
St. Martin's Square
SS14 1DL